Week 1: Day 1 (1/23/17)

Day #: 1

Change of the Week: At least 10,000 steps daily

Current Weight: 231 lbs (105 kg)

Total Weight Lost: 0 lbs (0 kg)

Current Mood: I’m feeling okay…A bit bummed out that I let myself get up to this weight again. However, I’m feeling determined to make a change. 

Okay, I realize that this post is dated January 24, 2017, And, that’s because I didn’t get a chance to write this post yesterday. I’ve written down what I wanted to write though. And I took my starting photograph on time as well. In the future, I’ll be sure to post on time.

So, Day #1! I know, you’re probably thinking, “Umm…Why didn’t she start on New Year’s Day?” And, well, while I think it might have been a bit cool to have started on the first day of the New Year (it’s like the beginning of a new era – kinda), I just felt like that that’s what everyone does. And, if you know me well, you’d know that I don’t necessarily like to be conventional, I’m somewhat of a nonconformist, and I don’t like to blindly follow the paths of “Sheeple” (People unable to think for themselves/followers/lemmings/those with no cognitive abilities of their own).

So, I wanted to go about doing this my own way. I wanted to start my “New Year, New Me” plan early-ish this year, but on my own terms. So, I’ve arbitrarily chose January 23rd as my start date. And, I chose Monday as my weigh-in day, because, like most people in this country, I consider Monday the first day of the week, and it’s a good day to keep me on track.

To clarify, this isn’t really a New Year’s resolution. I’m not just trying to lose weight, exercise more, eat less, get more sleep, blah blah blah. No, it’s much bigger than that. My aim is to improve the quality of my life gradually, making small changes each week. I won’t just tackle weight loss, I’ll also work on my overall physical health, emotional and mental health.

This week, it is my goal to get in at least 10,000 steps daily. It’s a healthy goal, because it forces me to move more than usual. On average, I usually get about 3,500 steps a day because I drive everywhere (one of the crappy things about living in the suburbs) and my job doesn’t require much walking  (I teach music lessons at home).

To track my steps, I utilize my awesome FitBit Charge (if you don’t have a FitBit yet, I highly recommend that you invest in one – it will change the way you look at walking and exercise – I’ll write a post later about this), which is great because it counts the steps for me. I’d also like to note, prior to my start date I have been tracking my calories on FitBit (sticking within my plan – I’ll talk about this in a separate post) as well as my water intake, which is 64 fl. oz. a day.

Since today is my start date, I don’t have much to add at the moment. But, in a week, I’ll definitely have an update and inform you all what my next change will be. See you soon!

week-1

Day #1: I guess this would be my “Before” picture

Leave a Reply

