Week 3: Day 15 (2/6/2017)

Day #: 15

Last Week’s Change of the Week: Exercise at least 2 times a week (30 min exercise session minimum)

This Week’s New Change of the Week: Limit daily caloric intake to no more than 2,000 calories.

Current Weight: 232.1 lbs (105.3 kg)

Total Weight Change: +1.1 lbs gain (+0.3 kg gain)

Current Mood: Extremely put out…Wondering what I can do to do better.

Sorry this post is a bit late. I wrote it all down, I just didn’t get a chance to put it up on my blog.

So, the weight scale said that I gained weight, which obviously makes me unhappy. But, I have some possible explanations for this:

1) I’m using a new weight scale ~ I just bought a FitBit Aria, which I think is more accurate than my last weight scale. So, perhaps the previous readings were incorrect.

aria

2) I just started PMS’ing ~ I start experiencing PMS symptoms about 10 days before my period and I always feel uncomfortably bloated. I tend to carry some extra weight during PMS because of water retention (I have experience with this with my last weight loss program from several years ago).

3) Maybe I ate too much ~ I stuck within the limits of my calorie plan, meaning I maintained the calorie deficit at 1,000 calories (1,000 calories more were burned than were taken in). However, there were days where I consumed over 2,500 calories, which was a lot even for me. That’s why this week, I’m going to try to keep my caloric intake to under 2,000 calories, regardless of how many calories I burn.

4) Perhaps the initial weight gain was caused by increase of physical activity? ~ According to an article  published by the Cleveland Clinic, “A new exercise regimen puts stress on your muscle fibers, which causes small micro tears/micro trauma and some inflammation, and those two conditions in your muscle fibers are the reason you may gain some weight.” So, maybe since I started exercising this past week, this is just an example of me gaining some initial weight, which should go away soon.

To be honest, I don’t know why I gained 1.1 lbs. I can speculate all I want, but that won’t give me a clear answer. I don’t want to just be depressed either. So, instead I choose to be proactive. I’ll keep doing the healthy habits that I’ve picked up over the past few weeks (10,000 steps everyday, 64 fl oz water daily, exercise 2 times a week – 30 min at least), and just tweak my meal plan again, keeping caloric intake to under 2,000 calories daily.

I won’t let this make me discouraged. I won’t let this make me quit. I will persevere. I will continue on. And, in the words of Mitch McConnell, “Nevertheless, she persisted.” And that’s exactly what I’m doing.  This is a journey and I fully accept that. There will be good weeks and there will be bad weeks. Overall, this is a self-learning experience.

Let’s see what this week brings for me…

Here’s a picture of me from this past week (see below):

week-3

Looks like my belly is a bit more visible…lol

Leave a Reply

